top of page
Search
  • Gael Gordon

I went down a Rabbit Hole ...

To suggest that in a global crisis as we are all currently living through is a good time to start talking about things like #Gratitude, #Happiness and #Thriving may seem like a trite and ridiculous topic. What is there to be grateful for when, like here in New Zealand and many places around the world, we are in lock down in our homes, borders closed, and along with them, many of our businesses and workplaces? Ensconced within our homes, with frustration, boredom and the unknowing-ness of when things will return to 'normal' or what our future will look like, feeling grateful may seem as incomprehensible as trying to grasp a foreign language.


I get it. When the virus started to consume our news headlines back in mid March, I listened to the TV and read as much as I could find on the internet. And then it happened. With a fledgling small business all I could see was doom and gloom, even to the extent of foreseeing dire outcomes in my financial position.

"Why is this happening to me?" (as if I were the only person impacted!) "How am I going to survive, I've lost my income?" It was surreal and weird when I started calmly asking "Do I even want to be here?"


It was a very deep rabbit hole and I wallowed in it for several days. Living alone, I had no-one immediately at hand to talk to. I didn't have any any to reach out to. Or more truthfully, I chose not to reach out to anyone. Somehow I knew I had it within me to work this one out, and it was something I needed to work out on my own. And that's what I did.

I

What started the turn around for me? Several things. I started to reflect on other times where I had faced challenges that had threatened to consume me, that, at the time, I could see no end in sight, and where the fear and pain was almost unbearable. Yet I'd survived. Not only survived, each time I've gone on to thrive. To see my life take a step-change for the better. New opportunities opening up. Every time. "Why would this time be any different?", I asked myself.


With each significant life experience, more coping tools were added to my toolbox. Tools that I've learned to use and tools that have stood the tests of time. Tools that have been around since ... forever. Tools that have been long discarded, diminished or forgotten by many of us, yet are freely available to each and every one of us.


In the same way as these tools have been generously shared with me over the years, I now wish to share them with you, through my blogs and vlogs, so that you too may find a way through the challenges life throws at us.



Follow my blogs and vlogs as I share from what I've learned. Tips and tools that have pulled me out of many a rabbit hole, things I know that are simple and easy to implement Things that will, if you stick with it, help you too.








6 views0 comments
bottom of page